God’s Lesson from a 6 year old


Now that Thanksgiving is over, I would like to share with you the wonderful gift I received from my 6 year old daughter after I carved the turkey. This year I figured she was old enough to understand the whole “wish bone game.” For those of you who don’t know it, you take the wishbone of the turkey and each of you hold one of the sides, make a wish, and pull, thus, breaking the wishbone. Whom ever has the bigger half is said to get their wish granted. This is pure fantasy, of course, but one I compare to wishing on a star, and all little ones love doing that. So, I explained the rules, and told her to make a wish, she did and we took hold of the bone. I made sure my hand was a little lower as to make sure her first wish bone experience wouldn’t be a bad one. And no, that’s not cheating, it’s good parenting. So, as we made our wishes, I arbitrarily wished for a ton of cash, knowing I was going to loose, it didn’t really matter. We pulled and, because of my strategic hand placement, she got the bigger half. I couldn’t resist asking her what she had wished for though. I know your not suppose to tell, but its fantasy, give me a break! This is when my 6 year old daughter taught me something that made me both proud and extremely guilty. As I wished for loads of money for myself, she simply said “I wished Mamaw and Papaw would feel better.” I’ll give you a minute to get all the Ooo’s and Ah’s out…….. You see, my Mom (aka Mamaw) and my Step-Father (aka Papaw) have both had some health issues come up as of late, nothing too serious, but there is some concern there. Then, as if she could sense the guilt, she asked “What did you wish for?” I, doing my best side step, dodged the question with a hug and said I hope they feel better too.

So, this week we will be discussing thinking about others in our lives before ourselves.

 

1 Corinthians 10:24
No one should seek their own good, but the good of others

Galatians 6:2
Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

Philippians 2:3-4
Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, 4 not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

I was proud, of course, because she had chosen to make the wish for others and not for herself, but I couldn’t help but feel I missed a huge opportunity for my wish. I know it was fake, I know I had no chance of winning, but it didn’t matter. No matter what we are doing we should be thinking of how it affects other people. Even when they wouldn’t know, we should be thinking and praying for them. Telling people you are praying for them is a good way of helping them feel a little better, but don’t think you have to tell each person before you pray for them. You do not have to have their permission. Most of the people you are praying for should be the ones that don’t think they need it, or would never ask for it. Also, don’t think you know what is best, pray for God’s will, or God’s protection, or God’s healing power. Making sure to put God first in everything.

 

Matthew 5:16
In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

Luke 6:31
Do to others as you would have them do to you.

Romans 13:8
[ Love Fulfills the Law ] Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for whoever loves others has fulfilled the law.

Ephesians 4:29
Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

Hebrews 13:16
And do not forget to do good and to share with others, for with such sacrifices God is pleased.

1 Peter 4:10
Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms.

We also need to be aware of what others see in us and from us. The quickest way to turn someone away from Christ is to show them how bad Christians are. Why should people give their life to Christ when they can act however they want without him and Christians don’t seem any better? We need to know, that changing the world starts with changing us. We need to be aware that where ever we are, we are being watched, not only by God, but others that could be trying to make up their mind on what they should believe in. We are doing a horrible job! Every time you honk at someone who cuts you off. Every time you laugh at someone, or gossip, or just look the other way when they need help. I promise you, things will change in your life if all you do, is take yourself out of those bad situations and start reading his word. Like, instead of taking a break and sitting around gossiping about someone, go off and read the Bible.

 

Romans 1:12
that is, that you and I may be mutually encouraged by each other’s faith.

Romans 12:5
so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

These show why we should put others before ourselves, other than God saying so. We are all a team. We can’t do God’s will on our own. We have to help each other up, so we can stand together. The more people that are on your team, the better chance you have of, not only winning, but winning by a landslide. God designed us to be together. When we are alone, we are most vulnerable. There are things you do when you are alone, that you would never do in front of someone else. Why? Accountability. We will go the extra mile when we know someone is counting on us, or at least watching. However, when we are alone, we will sit there and put it off, or only do it half way, even though we know God’s watching. He is the one we should be trying to please more than anyone else. As the body of Christ, we need all parts to work together in order for us to reach out to others. So, helping others become the best part of Christ that they can be can only help you reach your potential in Christ as well. So, look at it as helping others to help yourself, because the people, who truly give joyfully to others, get more than they give.

 

Your Challenge This Week: Walk the Talk!

Make a conscious decision to hold yourself to a high level of expectation in Christ, so others can see what Christians should be like.

Leave a Reply

