Weakness is Human Nature


Weakness is human nature. All humans are weak all the time. I’m not saying, by our standards everyone is weak. There is naturally some who are stronger in one area and others who are stronger in other areas. But everyone has weaknesses, if we didn’t we wouldn’t die. There is no one who is perfect in every way except God. There are different forms of weaknesses: physical, emotional, social, and fear. Fear itself is not a weakness, but it can cause weakness. It could take something you are strong in and make you weaker than you can imagine, so for this discussion I’ll include it. So how, if we are always weak, can we overcome those problems and become strong. Well it stands to reason that if God is the only one who is without fault, without weakness, and without limit, he is the only one who can show us how to be strong. I know, from the outside looking in, it seems weird to thing you can receive anything that would make you stronger in anyway. We have all heard of the stories about a parent lifting a car or someone doing an impossible task when adrenalin kicks in. I know science has explained this away, but honestly, how do you think that adrenalin gets released, and how did the body know how much to have on hand before then, and how does that person not get hurt? How? It’s God’s protection. That’s the only thing that can explain it.

 Exodus 15:2

“The LORD is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

Psalm 22:19

But you, LORD, do not be far from me. You are my strength; come quickly to help me.

 Psalm 28:7

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.

 Isaiah 12:2

Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The LORD, the LORD himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation.”

When we look back through the Bible, there are many places where it talks about God being strength. This is the rock we can stand on when we find ourselves in those ruts or valleys we so seldom fall into. When we are weak or afraid, this gives us an absolute truth we can cling to. All we have to do is ask for his strength, and believe in him to deliver us. The strength is there for the taking if we would just rely on it. So when we get that strength, what does it do for us?

 Exodus 15:13

In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.

 1 Samuel 30:6

David was greatly distressed because the men were talking of stoning him; each one was bitter in spirit because of his sons and daughters. But David found strength in the LORD his God.

 2 Thessalonians 3:3

But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.

His strength guides, saves, and protects. It needs to be said that it does not say that it will do. That is still up to you. Strength can only give, it can’t do. It gives you guidance, safety, and protection. You still have to listen and obey, that is where faith comes in. Jesus healed the blind man and then sends him to the water to wash the mud off his eyes. The man could have easily just wiped them off, and walking anywhere near water would have been something this man would not have done on a normal basis. So, Jesus required his faith for him to be healed. We have to take that step out onto the water like Peter when Jesus walked on water, but when Peter started to lose faith he started to sink. So when we are in that dark place, if we have faith in him, he will save us from danger, then protects us from falling, and guides us out of it and back into the light.

2 Samuel 22:33

It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure.

 Philippians 4:13

I can do all this through him who gives me strength

 1 Corinthians 1:25

For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength.

When God is with us there is nothing we can’t do. There is no hole too deep, no fear to great, and no mountain we can’t climb. You just have to be looking for him. He will come to you in so many forms. A lot of people think when God sends someone, it will be a stranger or “angel”, and they are going to come in, make things right again, and never be seen again. It’s what they call a “Guardian Angle”. I’m not going to say this won’t happen or hasn’t, but God works in so many ways we can’t comprehend. It could be a phone call from a friend right when you feel lonely, or that perfect song on the radio. He can just show you himself through a beautiful sunset, or a summer breeze. The fact is we have to be open to seeing him, or those moments will pass us by and not do anything for us. I am truly convinced that the greatest thing he uses to give us hope, for hope is faith for his strength, is to give us opportunities to help others, for when we give love we get love, and love is our greatest hope of all!

 Your challenge this week:  Show love

 Help someone! It’s that simple. It doesn’t have to be big; it doesn’t have to be small. You never know when God will use your love to grab ahold of someone.

Leave a Reply

